Meet the Team | Robert Mennear

Hi my name is Rob Mennear and I am going to be joining Exim Dance Company at the start of the term as one of their new Lead Community Dance Practitioners.

ijad-5
IJAD

I was drawn to the position by the way Exim have a strong balance in both Educational and Professional development, alongside their open attitude to cross networking with other dance bodies.

Exim continue to grow and push boundaries in the accessibility to all and everyone, across all ages and abilities who wish to dance. This for me is key and I’m excited to get involved in such a team, where I can offer all that I have learnt over the past 13yrs as a professional contemporary dance artist and practitioner.

I look forward to getting a variety of the South West community into the studio for the first time or to continue their ongoing training. My focus for this term will be Exim Open Company Class, Animate, Boys Dance at Stoke Damerels Community College and The Making Waves Project.

I returned to the South West five years ago after a long but highly influential time in London. I trained at ‘The Place’ (London Contemporary Dance School), where I gained both my BA (hons) Degree in Contemporary Dance and my Postgraduate Diploma in performance with the touring company Edge07. In the company had the amazing privilege to of worked with artists from Trisha Brown Dance Company, Lost Dogs and Stephen Petronio as well as amazing guest practitioners!

st2_2552
Image – Steve Tanner for Freefall

After my studies I continued to work in London as well as touring nationally and internationally, performing with such dance companies as Jose Vidal, Ffin Dance and Ijad.

ijad-1
IJAD

Alongside performing my keen interest in teaching lead him to teach in established institutes, schools and academies across London. Outreaching and developing youth programmes on the C.A.T (Centre for Advanced Training) and on Boy Dance.

I’m still fortunate enough to continue to perform in London but Cornwall is now very much my home again.

Since my return home I have been working with such local companies as Cscape Dance CompanyRogue Theatre and Freefall Dance. I have established myself as a growing dance practitioner across higher education, youth dance, professional and community, integrated dance and contemporary performance.

1507956_10151970889116129_903465870_n
Image IJAD

In the time I have been back I’ve secured a number of lead practitioner roles with some of the largest dance bodies in the South West, including The Hall for Cornwall, The Theatre Royal, St Austell College, Jason Thomas Performing Arts, as well as setting up my very own youth All Boys Dance Company and now with I’m the Community Dance Practitioner for EXIM!

Each class, workshop, performance and project further enhances both my knowledge and understanding of what it is to be an ever developing practitioner and performer. I like to think that everything I am exposed to feeds into all that I do, it is only natural to be left with some kind of thought or influence from one’s experience. I relish the opportunity to guide and witness those who are there to give it a go, be it for fun or as a profession. To find joy and freedom through movement and creativity in the wonderful existence of DANCE.

I hope to see many of you soon.

unnamed

Rob Mennear | Lead Dance Practitioner 


Leave a comment