Apprentice Update – Tammy Mildren

anniversary-4What a great start to the New Year so far I have come back and found out that I will be able to work 8 hours a week with Exim Dance Company when my apprenticeship finishes in April 2017. Not only this but I  also applied for a level 4 Higher National Certificate in Dance Theatre at City College Plymouth. Where I had to show a minute solo to showcase how I dance and my ability. I then found out they want to offer me a place in September on the course which is amazing news and I really can’t wait. I also have started back assisting with the classes I usually do which I really enjoy doing and have also started recently assisting with a children’s yoga class (youth yoga) this is such an amazing class and I really love seeing the young people grow and develop as the weeks go by.

I am also overcoming an injury to my MCL ligament in my knee! I have had to take a step back from assisting and dancing whilst I was on crutches which was frustrating but also really interesting at the same time because I got to see the other side of teaching and got to watch the two groups I normally dance with perform and I also got to see the pieces come together. As well as this I got to input in on the pieces itself so I gained some choreographic skills during this time. Although it has been a great insight I am glad to say I am on the mend and finally off crutches and able to slowly return to dance and eventually assisting which I really can’t wait to do.

I also watched ADAPT, Making Waves and Space Shot Youth  groups perform at City College’s Dance Infinity Platform, which they all did incredibly well  at and I’m so proud of them all. I also got the chance to do all the dancers hair, which was hard work, but great fun and I really like doing this for the shows, but never done three groups at the same time before it was a great challenge.adapt-11

I also started the Exim Dance Company adult beginners tap class which is so fun because I love tap and Rachel really breaks down each step to make it easy to learn so I have managed to pick up the steps and can do them on my own. I love th
e classes so much and hope to be able to continue them when I have finished my apprenticeship.

Look forward to updating you again soon.

Tammy 

Exim Dance Company Apprentice

 

Leave a Reply

